Steven Furtick: ‘You’re Not Francis Chan!’ (VIDEO)

 

 

A few months ago, Steven Furtick listened to a friend say he feels like such a bad Christian because, “Francis Chan had the faith to walk away from his church and kind of launch out into the unknown.”  “But,” Furtick’s friend lamented, ”I don’t have the faith like that to leave everything that’s comfortable to me and embrace something new.”

“The friend’s words Surprised me,” says Furtick.  “I thought it was weird that he’s standing there telling me ‘I don’t have the faith like that to leave everything that’s comfortable to me and to embrace something new,’ because I know this guy, I thought he was a great man of faith.”

The conversation bothered Furtick for months, so much that he said, “If I could go back, I’d tell him You’re not Francis Chan.”

Furtick explained his remarks by saying,

“Sometimes as a Christian you can be down on yourself because you’re in one certain position and you think ‘man, I’m not really making a difference here’ and you hear about somebody like Francis Chan … who gets up, leaves everything and goes.”

“But,” Furtick cautioned, “Sometimes, God gives you the faith to get up and go but other times God gives you the faith to stay put.  [God] might be calling you to stay in a place to do something very normal and that will be your greatest demonstration of faith – faithfulness.”

Then he ended, “You’re not Francis Chan and I’m not Francis Chan; you’re not Abraham (of the Old Testament).”

[

Leave a Reply

