“FROM AROUND THE BLOGOSPHERE: Craig Groeschel, Anne Jackson, Pete Wilson etc.: Some Posts That Are Note-Worthy . . .”

authors-craig anne-jackson-flowerdust2aboutpicpete1

 

 

 

 

 

Saw a few posts this week worth noting:

 

1.  ANNE JACKSON:   Blogger extraordinaire.

Anne did a post this week called, “Head Into The Dark…”  that was both moving and uneasy at the same time.  Anne’s honesty and transparency are truly remarkable. Exhibit A:

“Christmas time was hard for me (for a variety of reasons that are personal) and I felt isolated…it wasn’t because people were ignoring me, but because of choices I made to isolate myself.  I felt too insecure to share the darkness I was experiencing. . . ”

You can’t get anymore personal than that.  More than 68 comments and counting.  Her radical honesty is touching many.  Gotta Love Anne Jackson.

2.  CRAIG GROESCHEL: One of the reasons God is raising Groeschel up to be a leader of leaders, I believe,  is because of his incredible humility, and his commitmmnet to serve others in building the kingdom.  Here’s what I mean: In one post this week entiteld, “The Differences I’m Thankful For”  Groeschel had this to say:

“I’m thankful for the:

  • Social conscious of the United Methodists.
  • Emphasis on being born again from the Baptists.
  • Focus on holiness from the Nazarenes.
  • Power of the Holy Spirit in the Charismatics.
  • Evangelistic hearts of the seeker sensitive leaders.
  • Message of grace from the Lutherans.
  • Attention to right doctrine from the Bible Church leaders.
  • Heartfelt worship from Pentecostals.
  • …and much more more!

I’m thankful that God uses different Christian Churches as His light in a dark world!”

That’s a statement from a man who knows what humility is.

3.  CARLOS WHITAKER: Los Wit, as he calls himself, did a short but gut-wrenching confession on his blog this week, in a post called “The Bride of Christ” where he shared:

“I work for a church
I spend the day thinking and processing things that reach people for His name’s sake.
I had 7 meetings today.
Strategizing, planning, and critiquing.
I prayed in none of them.
Actually I did.
For the unhealthy food I was about to eat for lunch.
And for 5 seconds.
I shudder at the tears He cried as I allowed my serving Him to replace my knowing Him.
Lest we forget.
Los”

Wow.  say no more.

4.  PETE WILSON:  Pete did a post entitled “Be The Church” past this week where he said:

“Yesterday someone read a quote from my message on Sunday which Jenni had put on her blog. The quote was,

“We need to stop playing church and start being the church.”

This person contacted me and asked me what I really meant. A quote of that nature probably deserves further clarification.

It means we need to stop arguing about style of worship and get concerned about the poor and hungry around the world.

It means we need to spend less time gossiping about others and more time allowing God to break our hearts over the people in our cities who are facing an eternity apart from Christ.”

Thought-provoking stuff.

Notice any themes here?  For me it’s:  look outside yourself.  Others are hurting, and trying to be more and do more for Christ, so give them a break.  There’s more to life than our self-absorbed bubbles.

In the words of Switchfoot:

“Life is more than fame and rock and roll and thrills,
All the riches of the kings end up in wills
We’ve got information in the information age
but do we know what life is outside of our convenient Lexus cages?”

– “GONE”

Switchfoot

Leave a Reply

