Rob Bell Says He ‘Hates Blogging’ – Mars Hill Church Cedar Rapids, MI Author SexGod, Velvet Elvis & Drops Like Stars & Nooma

Rob Bell hates blogging!

In the latest issue of Relevant Magazine, during the question and answer interview with Rob Bell (see previous entries to verify I’m all for Rob Bell) he says:

“You have to be totally disconnected from the pain of the world to think that blogging is somehow a redemptive use of your time. I guess I have some strong thoughts on that.”

Ok, to be fair. the question was about how he deals with critics. It was a fairly long answer that dealt with how that “…the world is an emergency, it’s on fire. It’s drowning, it’s an absolute crisis..” and that followers of Jesus can think of nothing better to do than pick apart the work of other followers who are trying to do something to help the world. So I think he is referring to the blogs dedicated to criticizing him and others.

He also has some interesting things to say about what church is. And that anytime a church is large it is reason to be questioned. By large he means 20-30 people.

Hoping 2008 is a year of new starts for you and me. I know I could use some in a number of areas.

++++Update++++

I thought this was a provocative quote.  And I thought it worth considering how much time is spent blogging.  But I do think there are times that it can be very much a good use of time.  I also thought it worth considering if you spend your time criticizing or arguing about others beliefs that claim to follow Jesus.  But apparently some outside arguments that are part of what Rob Bell is speaking of came over here to continue their arguing.  So anybody got any comments about blogging or church size?

 

Leave a Reply

