PETE WILSON Guest Post: THE POWER OF SURRENDER

I spend a lot of my time around church leaders. It’s always fun to watch how we interact with each other when we’re all together. Just picking a restaurant to have dinner at can be quite the feat because so many of us tend to be control freaks.

I think being a “control freak” is something that many church leaders struggle with. Most strong leaders have a pretty clear picture of the way they want things to go.

You know, there are few words that control freaks around the world, like me, struggle with more than “surrender.”

We like to think we can manipulate almost anything to go our way.

We like to think that given enough time and money we can make almost anything happen.

We like to think we are where we are because of what we’ve done.

Taking our hands off a circumstance and trusting someone other than ourselves seems totally counter-intuitive.

But there are few things more powerful than the act of surrender. In fact, in life, it may be the most powerful thing you can do.

Surrender can be the turning point in your life and leadership. There is life-changing, heart-shaping power when you say to Jesus, “You are God. I am not. I will trust you.”

I will trust YOU with my marriage.

I will trust YOU with my children.

I will trust YOU with my finances.

I will trust YOU with my future.

I will trust YOU with my church.

There is an unexplainable, immeasurable, transcending power that comes along with the act of surrender.

We see this even in the life of Jesus. The most powerful moment in His life was not necessarily when He made the winds and waves calm with just His spoken word. It probably wasn’t when he fed the 5,000 or even when he brought Lazarus back from the dead by simply calling out to him.

His most powerful moment, in my opinion, was in the Garden of Gethsemane when He chose to let go of any temptation to control His own fate or future and He completely surrendered saying, “Not my will, but Yours be done.”

I hope you’ll take some time to think through your life and leadership. Is there an area in your ministry that you need to surrender to Jesus today? Maybe a relationship you need to trust Him with?

There’s nothing more difficult or more rewarding. I’m praying you’ll surrender today.

Leave a Reply

